Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Old Town and Surroundings


Ulica Długa is one of the oldest streets of Warsaw, and as such, is entered in the register of monuments. In the Middle Ages it was a route leading to Sochaczew and Łowicz. During this period, the street played also the role of the market place, hence its unique width as for the street in the area of the New Town.

Pałac Raczyńskich
Raczyński Palace (Pałac Raczyńskich)

ul. Długa 7

Built in the early 18th century, it was rebuilt in the neoclassical style when improvements were being made. One of the owners of the palace was Kazimierz Raczyński, a participant in the Targowica Confederation, whose aim was to overthrow the May 3rd Constitution. During the Warsaw Uprising in 1944, insurgents seized the palace and set up a hospital inside. After the heroic capitulation of the Old Town on September 1, 1944 the Germans burst into the hospital and shot about 430 of the injured, for which a commemorative plaque hangs on the palace's outer wall. Rebuilt in 1948-1950, it currently houses the Main Archive of Old Files. More information
(fot. Tomasz Nowak)

Katedra Polowa WP
Cathedral Church of the Polish Army of Mary Queen of Poland (Katedra Polowa Wojska Polskiego pw. NMP Królowej Polski)

ul. Długa 13/15

Built in 1642, at the request of King Władysław IV of the Order of Piarists. After being burning down by the Swedes, it was rebuilt in the Baroque style. After the November Uprising the church was renamed the Orthodox Church, and its Baroque décor was removed from the interior, and on its towers (which had been covered with characteristic domes), bells cast from cannons were hung. Their sound was intended to suppress all patriotic sentiment. After Poland regained independence, the church was transferred to the ownership of the army. Since 1920, the church has served as a garrison church, and from 1991, it has been the headquarters of the Military Department of the Polish Army. More information
(fot. Wanda Hansen)

Pomnik Powstania Warszawskiego
Warsaw Uprising
Monument (Pomnik Powstania Warszawskiego)
Plac Krasińskich

The monument commemorates the thousands of heroes of the 1944 Warsaw Uprising who gave their lives for their homeland, having fought against the occupiers for 63 days under woefully uneven odds. It is a two-part monument. The first part presents the fighters as they crawl out from under a bridge support, while the second part shows them entering the canal system. An entryway into the canal system used to escape from the Germans was located on Plac Krasińskich. More information
(fot. Tomasz Nowak)

The Supreme Court of the Republic of Poland (Sąd Najwyższy Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej)

pl. Krasińskich 2/4/6

Erected at the end of the 20th century. The building is decorated with caryatids of virtuous symbols (faith, hope and love) and the columns are engraved with maxims of Roman law in both Polish and Latin. The building itself has a symbolic role in history, namely at its front gate: during World War II, this gate was one of those which led into the Jewish Ghetto. (fot. Piotr Wierzbowski)

Pałac Krasińskich
Krasiński Palace (Pałac Krasińskich)

pl. Krasińskich 3/5

One of the most beautiful palaces in Warsaw and Poland. Built in the Baroque style (in the 17th century), it is also called the Palace of the Republic of Poland, was formerly the seat of the supreme court, and is now one of the seats of the National Library.
In the palace there are numerous manuscripts, including those by Załuskich and Rapperswilska, as well other rare books that miraculously survived the horrors of war. Other collections worthy of attention are the priceless Polish and foreign medieval manuscripts, a thematic collection devoted to the period of Great Emigration (1831-1883) and stationery souvenirs from Cyprian Kamil Norwid. More information
Behind the palace is Krasiński Garden – a beautiful baroque urban park, which is a popular place for walks and picnics.  (fot. Rafał Motyl, City of Warsaw)

Pałac pod Czterema Wiatrami
Palace under the Four Winds (Pałac Pod Czterema Wiatrami)

ul. Długa 38/40

This palace owes its nickname to the four figures of Eolia which are set on fence pillars which separate the yard from the street. The full name of the palace is Dückert Tepper, and it derives from its most prominent owners: from 1808-1914, this was the very elegant Hôtel de Dresde (Dresden Hotel). After World War I, the palace declined in stature and became a tenement house before being purchased by the State Treasury and restored in 1927. Currently the Polish headquarters of the World Health Organisation is located here, among many other professional and governmental offices. (fot. Wanda Hansen)

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.