The Royal Route is one of the most representative arteries of the city, as it combines a series of old royal residences. It starts at Zamkowy Square, goes through Łazienki Królewskie, and then on to Wilanów. It evolved over centuries, and it charms with its scattered churches, parks and residences.
Zamkowy Square (Plac Zamkowy)
Trzech Krzyży Square (Plac Trzech Krzyży)
Ujazdowskie Avenue (Aleje Ujazdowskie)
The Royal Łazienki Park (Łazienki Królewskie)
ZAMKOWY SQUARE (PLAC ZAMKOWY)
Royal Castle (Zamek Królewski)
pl. Zamkowy 4
Built in the 15th century, this castle served as residence of Mazovian princes. Once the capital was moved to Warsaw from Krakow, the castle served as seat of the king and the government. The castle has been renovated repeatedly and destroyed completely during World War II. It was rebuilt between 1971-1988 using castle remains and rubble. Today, the segment with the clock tower opens the way to the Old Town. Museum attractions include two original Rembrandt paintings as well as works by Bernard Bellotto, aka Canaletto, court painter to Polish King Stanisław August Poniatowski. Canaletto’s paintings were vital during Warsaw’s post-war reconstruction.
On the Vistula side are the recently renovated Kubicki Arcades which support the foundations and the cliffs and give the structure its shape. Following the 1831 Uprising they were used as stables and barracks, and then as garages. The arcades are original, as they were not destroyed during World War II. Currently they house an archaeological exhibit and pension.
King Zygmunt III Waza Column (Kolumna króla Zygmunta III Wazy)
The oldest and tallest non-church monument in Warsaw was raised in 1644 by King Władysław IV, in honour of his father Zygmunt III Waza, who in 1596 moved the capital from Krakow to Warsaw. The monument stands 22 metres high with the actual figure of the King measuring 275 cm. The sword he holds in his right hand symbolises bravery, while the cross he holds in his left hand symbolises his readiness to fight evil. According to legend, should the King’s sword fall downward, disaster is sure to follow. The statue fell during World War II and its destroyed column placed inside the Royal Castle, where it can still be seen today.
One of the most beautiful streets in Warsaw. After a complete rebuilding, the street was changed into a wide promenade with a narrow street in the middle. Along the sidewalks, glass-covered placards with reproductions of Canaletto's paintings of 18th century Warsaw have been placed.
During summer weekends, the street is closed to drivers and together with Nowy Świat Street, Krakowskie Przedmieście becomes the most famous promenade in the city. We start the walk down Krakowskie Przedmieście from Zamkowy Square (Plac Zamkowy), but the numeration of the mansions starts down by the Nicolas Copernicus monument, where the street joins with Nowy Świat Street.
Prażmowski Mansion (Kamienica Prażmowskich)
ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 89
The Rococo mansion is from Saxon times; built in 1660, it was the mansion that housed the royal physician. At present, the House of Literature (Dom Literatury) is here, as is the first-ever escalator in Poland, built in 1949 and brought from the Soviet Union.
St. Anne's Church (Kościół św. Anny)
ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 68
Completed in the second half of the 15th century, this Gothic church was a gift for the Order of St. Bernardine, it has been destroyed many times, and rebuilt in different styles each time. The present classicist façade hides the rich baroque inside. The church is located close to the most important of Warsaw's universities, and now serves as an academic temple. The lookout terrace is located on the belfry close to the church. More information
Adam Mickiewicz Monument (Pomnik Adama Mickiewicza)
ulica Krakowskie Przedmieście
Monument to one Poland’s most eminent poets of the Romantic period. Revealed in 1898 on the poet’s 100th birthday, during a time of increased Russification following the January Uprising, the monument is the work of renowned sculptor Cyprian Godebski.
The monument had a heroic role during the events of March 1968. It was here that protests against the Soviet embassy-inspired removal of Mickiewicz's work, ‘Dziady’, from a list of National Theatre performances were organised. The monument stands near the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary and of St. Joseph (ulica Krakowskie Przedmieście 52/54) and Skwer Hoovera, the scene of many concerts and exhibitions. More information