Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
Szukaj
Szukaj
Szukaj
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Praga District

dawna mykwaFormer Jewish bathhouse 
ul. Kłopotowskiego 31

This small building with a facade of red brick was built between 1910-1914, and designed by Naum Horstein. It originally served as a mikvah, that is a Jewish ritual bath. Before the Sabbath (Saturday) and important religious holidays, Jews cleaned away any spiritual impurity in this ‘special pool’. After the war, many things stood in the building, including Office of the Central Committee of Polish Jews, and then a kindergarten and secondary school. Today the building is owned by the Jewish Community, and houses a multicultural high school, named after Jacek Kuroń. 
During its renovation in 2009, in the building’s courtyard was found a perfectly preserved pool, which had been used to store rainwater. The former mikveh building is the only one of its kind in Warsaw. It flanks a small square where the Praga synagogue stood until 1961, its foundations preserved underground. On the instructions of the then-authorities the temple was destroyed and the ruins were turned into a small hill, and next to it was built a children's playground. 

 

Różycki Bazaar (Bazar Różyckiego)
ul. Targowa 54

Founded in the late 19th century by Julian Różycki, who was a pharmacist and owner of several pharmacies. The bazaar was constructed in order to be a major trading center in Praga: originally it had seven indoor stalls. During World War II, it was one of the few places where Warsaw residents could buy goods, derived – with a bit of cunning and quite a lot of danger – from the German military transport vehicles and stores.
After the war the bazaar really flourished. One could buy goods unavailable in state stores, which in the communist times, were often empty anyway. 

 

dawna komora wodnaFormer Water Chamber
ul. St. Kłopotowskiego 1/3

This is one of the oldest and most valuable buildings on the right-bank of Warsaw; it’s also called the House of Columns.
Built and designed by Antonio Corazzi between 1824-1825, it was for the City Department of Bridges. The building was situated at the entrance to the boat bridge, which was used to cross to the other side of the Vistula River, and it was here that tolls were paid. The chamber performed this function until 1864, when the first permanent crossing of the Vistula River was built – the Kierbedź Bridge. On the building’s facade is a carved relief by Tomasz Accardi, which represents Neptune’s (the god of the sea) chariot drawn by fish-tailed horses, and surrounded by dolphins. Also interesting are the cast-iron plates documenting the record heights of the Vistula’s water levels in 1813, 1839 and 1844.
In 2007-2008 the building underwent a general overhaul, currently, it houses a branch of the Warsaw City Office.


Pomnik KościuszkowcówMonument of Kościuszko Division (Pomnik Kościuszkowców)
ul. Wybrzeże Szczecińskie

Monument to soldiers of the 1st Tadeusz Kościuszko Infantry Division, who died trying to help during the Warsaw Uprising.
A monument commemorating the soldiers of the Polish 1st Tadeusz Kościuszko Infantry Division. In September 1944, they failed in their attempt in crossing to the left bank of the Vistula River, trying to assist during the Warsaw Uprising. The monument was designed by Andrzej Kasten at the initiative of the Polish Army Veterans Association and Kościuszko Club. It shows a soldier extending his hand, in a dramatic gesture, toward Warsaw’s left-bank. The 12-meter high bronze statue was unveiled in January 1985 to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the liberation of Warsaw. The creator of the monument’s architectural environment is B. Chyliński.

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.