Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
Szukaj
Szukaj
Szukaj
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Old Town and Surroundings


MIODOWA STREET

Collegium Nobilium
Collegium Nobilium

ul. Miodowa 22/24

Built in the 18th century as a college founded by Piarist Stanisław Konarski for the so-called aristocratic elite. This is now the Aleksander Zelwerowicz Theatre Academy and Collegium Nobilium Theatre. Rectors of the Academy were, among others: Andrzej Łapicki and Jan Englert, and many distinguished actors are among its graduates, including Jerzy Zelnik, Krzysztof Kolberger, Marek Kondrat, Piotr Fronczewski, Katarzyna Figura, Adam Ferency, Andrzej Chyra and Joanna Brodzik. (photo Wanda Hansen)


Pałac Borchów
Borch Palace - House of the Archbishops of Warsaw (Pałac Borchów - Dom Arcybiskupów Warszawskich)

ul. Miodowa 17/19

Built in the 18th century in the baroque-classicist style. The name comes from one of the owners of the palace, Jan Borch, who was the Underchancellor to the Crown. In the 19th century, the palace was transferred to the seat of the archbishop of Warsaw. It was fully rebuilt after the war, and to this day, it still functions as the Polish Primate's residence. During his pilgrimage to Poland, Pope John Paul II lived here. More information
(photo Tomasz Nowak)


Greek Orthodox Church of the Basilian Fathers (Cerkiew greckokatolicka oo. Bazylianów)
ul. Miodowa 16
Built in the 18th century; under Russian occupation (in the 19th century), the monastery was demolished and the church handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church. The Basilians regained control of the entire facility in 1936, and after it was rebuilt from the ravages of war, it became the only Greek-Catholic church in Warsaw. (photo Filip Kwiatkowski)


Pałac Paca
Pac Palace (Pałac Paca)

ul. Miodowa 15

Constructed in the late 17th century in the Baroque style. During the Prussian occupation (in the early 19th century), there was a theatre, and later a military barracks and hospital here. In1825, the owner of the palace was General Ludwik Michał Pac, who renovated the building, however, in connection with his participation in the November Uprising, all of the general's property - along with the palace - was taken away from him and given to the government. Currently the palace is the seat of the Ministry of Health. More information
(photo Tomasz Nowak)



Kościół Przemienienia Pańskiego
Church of the Transfiguration (Kościół Przemienienia Pańskiego)

ul. Miodowa 13

It was erected in the 17th century by decree of King Jan III Sobieski as a symbol of thanks giving for victory in the battles of Chocim and Vienna. The church has two royal sarcophagi: the heart of Jan III Sobieski and the internal organs of Augustus II the Strong. In the basement of the temple lies a number of representatives of the Polish aristocracy and intelligentsia. More information
(photo Wanda Hansen)



Pałac Młodziejowskich
Młodziejowski Palace (Pałac Młodziejowskich)

ul. Miodowa 10

Built in the 17th century; the palace's owners were, among others, the Voivod of Mazovia, Stanisław Morsztyn and Bishop of Przemyśl, Andrzej Młodziejowski (in the 18th century). From 1820, it housed an entrepreneurs' club, then many shops and bookstores, before descending in stature to become a rent house by the end of the 19th century. After the war, the palace was rebuilt and used as the seat of the Scientific Publishing PWN. Renovation works are currently underway on the palace, which will be converted into residential apartments. (photo Tomasz Nowak)



Pałac Branickich
Branicki Palace (Pałac Branickich)

ul. Miodowa 6

Built in the 18th century for Jan Klemens Branicki, Crown of Hetman. Until 1949, the owner of the palace was Franciszek Salezy Potocki, from whom the Polish communist government took the property under the decree of 1945. After the war, the palace was rebuilt and allocated to be one of the headquarters of the City of Warsaw. The palace will soon be returned to Potocki's heirs. More information
(photo Fotolia _Artur Bogacki)


Pałac Biskupów Krakowskich
Cracow's Bishop`s Palace (Pałac Biskupów Krakowskich)

ul. Miodowa 5

Built in the 17th century as the residence of the Bishops of Kraków. Repeatedly destroyed and rebuilt. From the end of the 18th century, the palace was home to numerous business head offices, and in the mid-19th century, it was used as a boarding house. In 1939, the building was burned to the ground by the occupying forces, and was rebuilt using Canaletto’s 17th century painting as a point of reference, to ensure authenticity in reproducing the original. The palace's façade on Senatorska Street has a plaque commemorating the death of dozens of Poles who were shot on this exact spot in 1944. More information
(photo Tomasz Nowak)

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.