Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
Szukaj
Szukaj
Szukaj
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Old Town and Surroundings


NEW TOWN (NOWE MIASTO)

This part of Warsaw was founded at the end of the 14th century and by the 18th century, it functioned as a separate city with its own administration, town hall and church. Most of the baroque and neoclassical buildings around the Market Square are post-war reconstructions, as the originals were destroyed during the Warsaw Uprising (1944). Today, the charming streets boasts many restaurants and cafés.

Kościół św. Ducha


Church of the Holy Spirit (Kościół św. Ducha)

ul. Długa 3

The first wooden church was built here as early as the 14th century. For nearly 300 years, in early August, the annual pilgrimage to the Marian shrine in Częstochowa departs from in front of the church. More information
The church is adjacent to the smallest building in Warsaw.





Kościół św. Jacka
Church of St. Jack (Kościół św. Jacka)

ul. Freta 8/10
www.freta.dominikanie.pl

Built between 1603-1639 in a baroque style from the foundation of pre-existing Warsaw burghers. The Dominicans came here in the early 17th century, from Kraków. During the Warsaw Uprising, the church housed the rebel hospital, and under its rubble, hundreds of wounded died.



Maria Skłodowska-Curie Museum (Muzeum Marii Skłodowskiej-Curie)

ul. Freta 16 
muzeum-msc.pl

Created in 1967, the Museum is housed in the 18th century townhouse in the Old Town, in which Marie Curie (nee Skłodowska) was born. The exhibition, dedicated to the life and activities of the great scientist, shows authentic tools and objects belonging to Marie Curie or from the era. She is the only woman to be awarded the Nobel Prize twice and the only winner in history to be honoured in two different fields of natural sciences: physics and chemistry. She did the first research on the treatment of cancer using radioactivity. More information



New Town Square (Rynek Nowego Miasta)

It started to form in the 15th century, and was originally a rectangular square, almost twice as big as the one in the Old Town. In the middle stood the town hall, which was demolished in 1818. Today, a 19th-century iron well stands, decorated with a Virgin and a Unicorn, which is the coat of arms of New Warsaw.

Kościół św. Kazimierza
Church of St. Casimir (Kościół św. Kazimierza)

Rynek Nowego Miasta 2

Originally the church was the residence of a business magnate, which was bought by Queen Maria Kazimiera Sobieska, and then turned into a church. During the Warsaw Uprising in 1944, it was a rebel hospital and a shelter for the civilian population. As a result of targetted bombing, hundreds of people were killed by falling rubble. More information


Kościół Nawiedzenia NMP
Church of the Visitation of the Virgin Mary (Kościół Nawiedzenia Najświętszej Marii Panny)

ul. Przyrynek 2

One of the oldest churches in Warsaw, it was built in the early 15th century. According to tradition, it stands on the site of a pagan temple, and its Gothic silhouette with a bell tower is one of the most distinctive buildings standing by the Vistula. It was known a long time ago as 'the temple of fishermen'. More information
Beside the church there is a terrace from which you can admire a panorama of the Vistula and the right bank of Warsaw.

Kościół św. Franciszka


Church of St. Francis Seraphic (Kościół św. Franciszka Serafickiego)

ul. Zakroczymska 1

Built in stages between 1679 -1733; there is a building next to the monastery from 1727. In 1944 the church was bombed, but not burnt, so many elements of the original Baroque architecture survived, including the pulpit, side altars, epitaphs, organs and portraits from the 17th and 19th centuries. More information



Pałac Sapiehów

Sapieha Palace (Pałac Sapiehów)

ul. Zakroczymska 6

Built in the first half of the 18th century, inspired by late Baroque, it was a barracks during the November Uprising (1830-1831) for the pedestrian regiment Czwartaki, which is commemorated by a plaque, before being used as a military hospital at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1944, it was completely destroyed by the Germans, and then reconstructed. Today it houses the Educational Institute for Hearing Impaired Children. More information


The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.