Palace has changed owners in its history many times. It is also known as Ostrowski Palace or Former Post Office Building.ulica Krakowskie Przedmieście 25 (map)
This Baroque palace was built in the mid-18th century for General Franciszek Jan Załuski. In 1761 it was bought by Teodor Wessel, who was the Royal Treasurer, and then in 1764 by Antoni Ostrowski, the Bishop of Kujawa; in its extensive history, the palace changed hands many times. In 1780, the palace was bought by Pomeranian voivod Franciszek Ignacy Przebendowski, who made it into a post office; it served this function until 1874. In 1882, during the full revamping of Trębacka Street, the corner building next to the palace was torn down, and it was at this time that a third floor was added to the palace. Destroyed during the Warsaw Uprising in 1944, it was completely rebuilt after the war. To this day, it is still referred to by locals as Pałac Ostrowskich or Starej Poczty (the 'Old Post Office').