In 1817 the palace was bought by the Government of the Kingdom of Poland, and after reconstruction it was a barracks.ulica Zakroczymska 6 (map)
The palace was built between 1731-1746, inspired by late Baroque, for Chancellor Jan Fryderyk Sapieha, and designed by royal architect Jan Zygmunt Deybel. In 1817 it was bought by the Government of the Kingdom of Poland, and after reconstruction it was a barracks, before being used as a military hospital at the beginning of the 20th century. In 1944, it was completely destroyed by the Germans, and between 1950-1955 it was completely reconstructed on the basis of the original Deybel project; most beautifully, its façade is lavishly decorated with sculptures. Today it houses the Educational Institute for Hearing Impaired Children.