Also known as the Palace of the Republic (Pałac Rzeczypospolitej). Currently, it houses the special collections of the National Library.
Also known as the Palace of the Republic (Pałac Rzeczypospolitej), it is a typical Baroque residence, built in 1677-1695 for the Płock voivod Jan D. Krasiński, and designed by Tylman of Gameren. Purchased by the Treasury Commission in 1765, it was named Palace of the Republic and became the treasury headquarters. After a fire in 1782, it was rebuilt according to the design of Dominik Merlini, and then from 1827-1828, court hearings took place at the palace. During the Warsaw Uprising of 1944 the building was burned, and carefully rebuilt after the war. Currently, it houses the special collections of the National Library. Right next to the palace is the noteworthy Krasiński Garden, boasting some impressive 19th century trees, such as ginkgo bilobas, caucasian wingnuts, black walnuts and Turkish hazels. In addition to the plants in the western part of the garden, there is also a partially-preserved Baroque piece of the original palace fence and gate.