Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Łazienki Królewskie Museum (Muzeum Łazienki Królewskie)

Łazienki Królewskie is a Palace-Garden complex the most beautiful planned area in Warsaw and one of the most beautiful in Europe, equally stunning in terms of its greenery and architecture.

ul. Agrykoli 1 (map)
tel. +48 504 243 783

Virtual tour

Pałac na Wyspie
Javascript is required to view this map.

Łazienki Królewskie Museum is a Palace-Garden complex which includes a park (76 hectares of nature, right in the city center) and numerous historical objects. The park was created using the formerly wildly growing forest, allowing the animals to be 'detained' under natural conditions. In the 18th century it became the most beautiful planned area in Warsaw and one of the most beautiful in Europe, equally stunning in terms of its greenery and architecture.

Łazienki performs a variety of functions: it is a museum, a place of cultural, scientific and entertainment events, and a favourite place for walks. It is also an important place for music lovers. For 50 years, at the foot of the world's most famous monument of Fryderyk Chopin, on Saturdays and Sundays during the summer, free piano concerts have been held, gathering crowds of tourists and music lovers.

Palace on the Island
– a pearl of Polish architecture and one of the symbols of Warsaw, is the most important building in the garden. Its history is closely connected with the reign of Stanisław August Poniatowski, the last Polish king. He decided to expand a small pavilion of Lubomirski's Bath to serve as one of his residences. The Palace, though badly damaged, survived World War II and was re-opened to the public in 1960.

Myślewicki Palace
The palace took its name from Myślewice village, which was once located not far from the palace. In 1774 the walls of the palace already existed, however the date of the commencement of construction is unknown. The palace is situated at the closing of the road leading from the city. King Stanisław August Poniatowski ordered it to be enlarged with two-storey pavilions, combined with the main body with round fittings of a single storey, at this point in its design, the building was finished by Merlini. The palace is maintained in the early classicist style, making it one of Warsaw's few surviving examples of this architectural era. The original aspects of the structure are the round outline of the 'wings', and the particular shape of the roof which is designed to resemble patterns in traditional Chinese art.

White House

Situated on the Royal Promenade, it was built in 1774 and designed by Dominik Merlini at the command of Stanisław August Poniatowski. The interior was decorated by two painters: Jan Bogumił Plersch and Jan Ścisło. The building is an original memento of the King Stanisław period because, although devastated, it was not completely destroyed during World War II. Its unique interior includes gigantic paintings in the Dining Room, original Chinese wallpaper (from the second half of the 18th century) in the Drawing Room, and the Office decorated with paintings by Jan Bogumił Plersch; all of these rooms have been preserved and are original. Also worth noting: in the Bedroom stands the King's authentic bed.

Old Orangery
In the east wing there is a wonderful interior, including one of the world's few genuine examples of an authentic court theater: it's made of wood and the audience area, consisting of a ground floor and boxes, is rich in decorative painting. The west wing contained living quarters for servants and guest rooms.


Right next to the Palace on the Water, in the eastern part of the garden, there is the so-called Wielka Oficyna (Grand Office), also called the Podchorążówka (the Military College). During the reign of Stanisław August, it was here that the kitchen and outhouse with flats were located. In 1822, the building was transferred into the Cadet School of Infantry and hence its present name derives from this. The building has been written into the history of the Polish nation because it was here that Piotr Wysocki urged cadets to pick up their weapons and revolt, effectively beginning the November Uprising.

Opened on the anniversary of the election of King Stanisław August, on September 7, 1791. Built according to a John Christian Kamsetzer design, situated on the bank of the pond, it's based on older buildings that once stood in this spot. The audience area is reminiscent of the theatre in the Herculaneum, and is topped with statues of famous dramatic writers, whilst the stage reminds one of the ruins of the Roman Forum. Its most unique feature is the separation of the audience from the stage using water.

Pavilions in the Park:
A small building, which was destroyed by fire early in the reign of Stanisław August. Rebuilt in the 18th century, designed by Dominik Merlini, it has survived unchanged until today. Currently, it houses a gallery where temporary exhibitions are presented, and it is also is a venue for concerts and meetings with authors and artists.
Temple of Sybilla
Built in 1822, its construction and design are inspired by ancient Greek buildings. The interior is decorated with paintings and motifs of fruit and flowers.
Egyptian Temple
Built around 1822, today only a fragment of its original structure remains; the temple stands near the pond. Historically, its roof served as a bridge and the main part of the building was the glass-glazed conservatory with fig trees. Currently, the temple houses the Museum of Scouting.
This is the place where the flowing water from nearby sources was collected and transferred to the Bath and the park fountains. In 1827 the building was re-built to resemble the Roman tomb of Cecilia Metelli on the Via Appia near Rome. Currently the interior serves as a gallery, where temporary exhibitions are organized.
New Orangery
Built in 1860, designed by Adam Adolphe Loeve and Józef Orłowski. Initially, during the winter months, this is where the palace's exotic plants were kept, but currently it houses a permanent garden and a restaurant, called Belvedere.
Stara Kordegarda
Built during 1791-1792 on the north bank of the pond. During the reign of King Stanisław August, it was occupied by the royal guards protecting the Palace on the Water. The decoration of the building was inspired by J.Ch. Kamsetzer, as is the stone colonnade. Today, it is the seat and showroom of the Society of Fine Arts.
Nowa Kordegarda
Built between 1779-1780, it served as an entertainment pavilion for a popular social game of the era, Trou Madam, a game which involved rolling stone balls. In 1782, it was adapted to act as the manor theater room known as the Small Theater. After the construction of the new Grand Theatre in the Orangery, the Small Theatre lost its raison d'être and the building was converted into a storage space for sculptures.
Narutowicz House
The building was erected in the 1930s as a residential building for senior officers. Before his death, the first President of the Republic of Poland, Gabriel Narutowicz, lived here. Today, it is a nursery.
Barracks of the Cantonists
The barracks were built between 1826-1828, in a simple, classical design. It acted as the Cavalry headquarters in the 17th century, and today, it houses the Museum of Hunting and Horsemanship. www.muzeum.warszawa.pl

In every nook and corner of the Łazienki Royal Park you can find a variety of unusual statues and monuments, with the most important ones being:
Jan III Sobieski Monument
Honouring the victorious commander of the Battle of Vienna, the monument was put up by Stanisław August Poniatowski, the last king of Poland. The statue was to present values cherished by king Stanisław. Unfortunately, his reign did not stand up to the one of his great predecessor and ended up in erasing Poland from the map of Europe. As the monument was very costly, its building was quickly followed by a satiric poem: "A hundred thousand for a statue! I'd give twice the sum to freeze Stanisław and to wake up Jan."
Chopin Monument
Initially arousing great controversies due to its expressive form, the monument is one of the icons of today's Warsaw. In due course, it has become an integral part of its surrounding, making it impossible to even imagine the Royal Łazienki Park without the statue and Chopin concerts held at its foot.
Henryk Sienkiewicz Monument
The statue of one of Warsaw most popular writers, whose books still enjoy great popularity in Poland and abroad. The sculpture presents the Nobel Prize Laureate of 1905 at his work.

Opening hours in winter season 17 October - 14 April:
Park: Mon.-Sun. from dawn till dusk
Palace on the Water: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the Palace can be visited after booking 1 day in advance.
White House: 
Closed in winter season.
Old Orangery and Royal Theatre: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the venues can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 
Myślewicki Palace: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the Palace can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 
Podchorążówka: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the venue can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 

Opening hours in summer season 15 April - 16 October:
Park: Mon.-Sun. from dawn till dusk
Palace on the Water: Mon. 11 am-6 pm; Tue.-Wed., Sun. 9 am-6 pm, Thr.-Sat. 9 am-8 pm
Old Orangery and Royal Theatre: Mon. 11 am-6 pm; Tue.-Wed., Sun. 9 am-6 pm, Thr.-Sat. 9 am-8 pm
Myślewicki Palace and White House: Mon. 11 am-6 pm, Tue.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm
Podchorążówka: Mon. 11 am-6 pm, Tue.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm

Palace on the Water: regular - 25 PLN, reduced - 18 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
White House: regular - 6 PLN, reduced - 4 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Old Orangery, Royal Theatre: regular - 20 PLN, reduced - 10 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Myślewicki Palace: regular - 10 PLN, reduced - 5 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Podchorążówka: admission free

On Thursdays admission free

Pass: Palace on the Water, Old Orangery, Myślewicki Palace, Podchorążówka, White House
one-day pass:
regular - 45 PLN, reduced - 28 PLN
three-day pass:
regular - 50 PLN, reduced - 30 PLN

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.